What’s ICEF?

Since 2014, every year the Government of Japan has hosted the Innovation for Cool Earth Forum (ICEF), gathering international leading figures tackling climate change through technological innovation in Tokyo, Japan.

Initiated by Japan’s Prime Minister Abe Shinzo, ICEF brings the world’s best minds together to solve the 21st century’s greatest environmental challenges.

ICEF’s mission is to nurture discussion and collaboration among participants and to disseminate innovations in energy and environmental technology to participants and beyond.

A distinguished steering committee from around the world ensures that the program addresses drivers of change based on a sound evidence basis.

Participants are invited from industry,  governments and academia to challenge and inform each other with their expertise and listen to distinguished speakers discuss the latest developments in social and technological innovation.

The conference is a great opportunity to meet committed and diverse range of high-level participants and the place to learn about the latest technological innovation from Japan and around the world.



Abe Shinzo, Prime Minister of Japan

The first decade of the 21st century have been warmer than any preceding period since global temperature records began in 1850 and it is extremely likely that human influence has been the dominant cause of the observed warming, according to the latest IPCC reports. Climate change is a challenge that humanity is facing at this very moment, not in the future.

In 2007, I, as Prime Minister of Japan, proposed a 50% reduction of global greenhouse gas emissions by 2050.
Innovation is the key to achieving this ambitious goal and it is essential for governments, businesses, and academia around the world to share their wisdom and closely cooperate with each other.

Based on this concept, I proposed the establishment of a new international conference where the world's leading policy makers, business persons, and researchers can meet and cooperate with each other to address climate change through innovation. This is an unprecedented attempt, an energy- and environment-focused version of the World Economic Forum.

It would be very beneficial if you, who are at the forefront of one of the biggest challenges to humanity, climate change, and are responsible for shaping the future of the earth, would participate in this forum. I hope to see you in Tokyo.

Abe Shinzo's signature

Abe Shinzo

Prime Minister of Japan

Page top ▲


Steering Committee


Tanaka Nobuo (Chair)

Chairman, The Sasakawa Peace Foundation;
Former Executive Director,
International Energy Agency (IEA)


Sally M. Benson

Department of Energy Resources Engineering, School of Earth,
Energy & Environmental Sciences,
Stanford University;
Co-Director, Precourt Institute for Energy,
Stanford University


Georg Erdmann

Retired Professor for Energy Systems,
Berlin University of Technology;
President of the Board, KSB Energie AG, Berlin


Eija-Riitta Korhola

Delegate of the Consultative Commission
on Industrial Change;
Advisor in the EU Affairs


Kuroda Reiko

Designated Professor,
Institute of Science and Technology Research,
Chubu University;
Professor Emeritus,
The University of Tokyo;


Hoesung Lee

Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on
Climate Change (IPCC);
Endowed Chair Professor, Graduate School of
Energy and Environment, Korea University


Richard K. Lester

Associate Provost,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Ajay Mathur

Director General, The Energy and Resources
Institute (TERI);
Member of the Prime Minister’s
Council on Climate Change


Jon Moore

Chief Executive Officer,


Valli Moosa

Former Minister for Environmental Affairs, Republic of South Africa


Nebojsa Nakicenovic

Executive Director, The World in 2050 (TWI2050)


David Sandalow

Inaugural Fellow, Center on Global Energy Policy,
Columbia University;
Co-Director, Energy and
Environment Concentration,
School of International and Public Affairs,
Columbia University


Ismail Serageldin

Emeritus Librarian of Alexandria,
Founding Director of the Library
of Alexandria


Vaclav Smil

Distinguished Professor Emeritus,
University of Manitoba


Laurence Tubiana

CEO, European Climate Foundation;
Chair of the Board of Governors,
French Development Agency (AFD);
Professor, Sciences Po Paris


Yamaji Kenji

Senior Vice President/Director-General,
Research Institute of Innovative Technology
for the Earth (RITE);
Professor Emeritus,
The University of Tokyo


Yasui Itaru

Institute of Promotion for Sustainable Society
Honorary Adviser,
National Institute of Technology
and Evaluation (NITE);
Emeritus Professor,
The University of Tokyo

Page top ▲